Mayoral Election result

5 May 2023
Counting of ballots

After a long Count the results of this year's Mayoral Election have been announced.

Sadly Mayor Dave Hodgson did not win, although it was very close.

Congratulations to Tom Wootton for winning with 15,747 votes - I received 15,602 votes.

Dave Hodgson said "Being Mayor of Bedford Borough is undoubtedly the best job in the Borough if not the world. I wish Tom luck in the role. I would like to thank all the residents for their support over the last 13.5 years - and special thanks to all the Officers at Bedford Borough Council.

You can find the full results and the results of the elections for Councillors at

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.